Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

More Birthday Fun! November 12, 2012

I hope everyone had a great weekend (or is still having a great weekend, if you are off today)! We had a wonderful weekend with my birthday celebration part 2!

On Saturday, we spent the day at my in-laws. My mother-in-law made an AMAZING brunch for my birthday that included:

Quiche made with swiss chard and mushrooms

YUM!

Cinnamon Rolls

SO worth the splurge!

Deviled Eggs (made by Patty, their good family friend and neighbor)

So good that I ate three!

Cafe Bon (the yummiest coffee drink ever!): made with coffee, chocolate, Amarula liquor and whipped cream!

Best coffee drink ever!

Keenan enjoying Patty’s whipped cream in her Cafe Bon!

My birthday cake: A dense and gooey sweet potato cake with whipped cream and white chocolate frosting!

One of the best cakes I have ever eaten (and I’m not much of a cake fan)!

Everything was delicious and left us all stuffed, to say the least! When we got home that evening, my husband and I were still so full, that we just munched on a few carrots, a slice of turkey and some popcorn.

Yesterday, my husband planned a wonderful day of wine tasting with our friends in Amador County (while Keenan stayed with some friends). We started our day at Amador Cellars with some tasting and then a nice picnic with sandwiches and baked goods from Andrae’s Bakery. Everything was delicious, especially their yummy rosemary brie bread! If you are ever in the area, I highly recommend stopping at Andrae’s for lunch!

SOOO yummy!

After lunch, we made our way to four wineries, including Vino Noceto (one of my favorites!), Story (a new favorite!), Convergence and Helwig (least favorite). It was such a beautiful (but cold!) day, that we were able to get some good pictures! On our way home, we picked up some pizzas and salads from Hot Italian in midtown Sacramento for dinner (a yummy way to end the day!). All in all, it was a great day and my husband did well! He planned the perfect birthday celebration. I’m so blessed and thankful for having such a loving and supportive husband!

Our first stop at Amador Cellars!

Great friends!

The girls and our boots!

Well, today, has been a “semi-lazy” day, since my husband has the day off (though, he isn’t feeling too well). Keenan had his last music class of the year this morning (we start again in January) and we stocked up on groceries on the way home.

After Keenan wakes up from his nap, we are going to CrossFit to complete “Murph,” a hero WOD that consists of: run 1 mile, 100 pullups, 200 pushups, 300 squats and run 1 mile. I’m SO not looking forward to it and trying to think of every excuse NOT to go.  But, I know my body needs a good workout, especially after consuming so many calories this weekend!

Enjoy the rest of your day!

Question: How was your weekend? Did you do anything fun?

*REMINDER: There is still time to enter the Fiber Gourmet giveaway! Contest ends tomorrow, Nov. 13th at 8 p.m. PST!! To enter, click here!

 

9 Responses to “More Birthday Fun!”

  1. […] get what she had (keeping my fingers crossed!). Though, my husband made each of us a mini Cafe Bon (minus the Amarula and half the chocolate) since we had some of his whipped cream left over. It was […]

  2. […] on another note, I survived yesterday’s extremely challenging WOD, “Murph“, yesterday. I finished in 49minutes and 24 seconds! I was SO relieved when it was over! I […]

  3. […] get what she had (keeping my fingers crossed!). Though, my husband made each of us a mini Cafe Bon (minus the Amarula and half the chocolate) since we had some of his whipped cream left over. It was […]

  4. […] “yummy food” (as Keenan likes to say!). We started our day off on a yummy note with Cafe Bon (thanks to my husband) and pumpkin bread pudding (recipe coming soon!) for breakfast. Keenan was […]

  5. […] on another note, I survived yesterday’s extremely challenging WOD, “Murph“, yesterday. I finished in 49minutes and 24 seconds! I was SO relieved when it was over! I […]

  6. Maria C Says:

    Looks like a great birthday!! You have an awesome mother in law…I wish mine were as awesome, it would make things sooo much easier. I had a birthday last week and didn’t even get a phone call!


Leave a comment