Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

A Tough Tuesday and An Easy Crock Pot Recipe! November 14, 2012

Well, today was just one of those days! This morning, while I was making breakfast, Keenan was “helping” me make coffee and as I was getting ready to put the coffee in the French Press, it tipped over and broke into a hundred pieces! Glass was EVERYWHERE and Keenan and I were in the middle of it (not a good situation!). Keenan started crying and all I could think of was making sure he wasn’t cut and cleaning up the glass. Luckily, Keenan was fine and I was able to clean everything up. But, we were extremely late for our play date with our friends in Roseville, Giselle from A Healthy Happy Home and her cute little guy, Ayden.

Once we met up with our friends, we had a great time! Giselle is so sweet and her little guy is adorable. We walked through the farmer’s market, played a bit and even went on a little train ride (which Keenan absolutely loved!). As we got closer to lunch time, Keenan was getting tired and cranky, so we headed to Whole Foods to pick up a quick bite to eat before heading home. As we were getting food, Keenan was so tired that at first he wanted something and then he didn’t, getting more and more cranky. So, I got something quickly for him and we ate outside before getting in the car to drive home. Since he was so tired, he ate very slowly and took forever to swallow his food. I kept telling him to swallow, but  he just kept his food in his mouth for the longest time!

Having fun on the train ride! Keenan supplied our “sound effects,” because he kept saying “Choo Choo” during the entire ride!

Enjoying the train ride together!

As I expected, Keenan fell asleep as soon we drove out of the parking lot. Thinking that he would transfer well (he usually does), I transferred him to his crib, but after a few minutes, he woke up and didn’t go back to sleep. I let him sit in his crib (in hopes he would fall back asleep), but it didn’t help. He kept talking to his animals and then eventually calling for me. Needless to say, today wasn’t the best! I definitely don’t feel like I’ve earned the “best mom” award. I can’t help but feel bad about the whole day: broken glass everywhere, staying out too late this morning, thus causing Keenan to act out in frustration, and keeping him in his crib in hopes of him falling back asleep while I got some work done. The lesson learned is I need to learn to take a step back and reevaluate the situation and let things go. I also need to not worry about getting “everything done,” and just appreciate these moments (good or bad), because they go by so quickly.

Well, on another note, I survived yesterday’s extremely challenging WOD, “Murph“, yesterday. I finished in 49minutes and 24 seconds! I was SO relieved when it was over! I have to say that was one of the most mentally challenging WODs I have done. It was  hard to stay focused when there were so many reps to do! At least today’s workout wasn’t too bad. We had a small WOD of 15 hang clean and jerks of 65 lb and 15 box jumps, completing as many rounds as possible in 10 minutes. It was a nice change from yesterday! In addition, I did 100 burpees after class, as extra work our coach is having us do in preparation for our upcoming competitions (and for being a few minutes late…).

Before I forget, tonight we made Kabocha squash for the first time! We quartered it, added spices and roasted it in the oven for 45 minutes. When it was ready to eat, we just scooped it out with a spoon. It was really good! I’ll definitely be buying it again!

So yummy!

To go along with it, I made pork with apples and onions in the crock pot, a recipe I found online. It was good, though a little too acidic. I accidentally added too much apple cider vinegar. With a little less vinegar, it would be much better. Here is the recipe. It is super easy, since you throw in frozen pork chops or country style ribs!

Good (though it doesn’t look that great)!

Crock Pot Pork and Apples: (serves 2-3)

Adapted from Frugal Foodie Mama

Ingredients:
– 2-3 pork chops or boneless country pork ribs (frozen)
– 1 medium red onion, chopped
– 2 medium apples (any kind), cored and chopped
– 1/4 cup apple butter
– 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
– 1 1/2 tbsp whole grain Dijon mustard
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 tsp pepper
– 1/2 cup apple sauce
Directions:
1. Mix apple butter, vinegar, mustard, apple sauce, salt and pepper together in a small bowl.
2. Place apples and onions at the bottom of the crock pot.
3. Place pork on top of the apples and onions.
4. Top with mustard mixture, cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours.
After a day like today, it is time for a much needed hot shower and heading to bed early. Have a good night!
Question: What kind of “bad mom” moments have you had? What did you learn from them?
**The winner of the Fiber Gourmet giveaway is: Heather! Congrats!! Please email me your address at fitnwellmommy@yahoo.com
 

17 Responses to “A Tough Tuesday and An Easy Crock Pot Recipe!”

  1. […] good! Tonight we had something a little different: Moroccan Cauliflower Rice (recipe below!) with Crock Pork and Apples. It was a hit! My husband actually prefers having cauliflower rice this way, instead of […]

  2. […] Crock Pot Pork and Apples with roasted butternut squash (sorry, I forgot to snap a […]

  3. […] Crock Pot Pork and Apples with roasted broccoli, cherry tomatoes, red onions and feta cheese […]

  4. […] it is time to get ready for CrossFit and finish preparing dinner (crock pot pork and apples with roasted broccoli) so it is done when we get home. My piriformis and rhomboids feel pretty good […]

  5. Nonna Says:

    Unfortunately, there will be so many more “bad mom” days in your life.
    Love,
    nonna

  6. […] night was our Crock Pot Pork and Apples with roasted Kabocha […]

  7. cleanfoodcreativefitness Says:

    That recipe looks awesome! I really need a crock pot to try out these awesome recipes! Sorry about the tough day! Hope today is a better one!

    • So far today is much better than yesterday! My crock pot is one of my favorite things to use in the kitchen, because you can pretty much throw anything in it and have a wonderful meal ready in a few hours. It is definitely worth getting!

  8. Natalie Says:

    I have days like that all the time – and just imagine with 3 of them…one of them has a bad day and my day is shot. Dealing with that this week with a sick baby! I’ve snapped at the other 2 a lot and have been trying to take a step back, but I need my time too! It is always good to see the big picture though. Hope today is better!

  9. Love your version of my recipe! And I love that you used ribs. 🙂

  10. […] Keenan at Me Gusta and I visited with Keenan’s mom Melissa.  She has a wonderful blog called Fit ‘N’ Well Mommy and if you haven’t checked it out yet make sure you do, it’s […]

  11. smartfoodandfit Says:

    Visiting from Mommy, Run Fast! I can relate to long tough days. I’m impressed that you did 100 burpees! I tried a few Crossfit classes and they were challenging. I’d like to join in the summer when I have a bit more free time,

  12. Dana Says:

    so sorry about your tough day!! The recipes looked like they were the perfect ending though. And….can I please say how massively impressed I am at your 100 burpees? I am doing a competition at my boot camp now, for how many burpees one can do in a minute. I went from 18-24, and htought that was impressive. I think with 100 I would die…feeling like i have to get to the gym now ….. 😉

    • Yes, having dinner already prepared at the end of the day made everything so much better! Doing 100 burpees was definitely not fun (I certainly felt like quitting several times!). At least I am caught up and only have to do 25 today! Good luck on your competition!


Leave a comment